To self-publish or not to self-publish, that is the question

Standard

Yes, that is the question but I’m beginning to think there’s more to it.

For some time now, I’ve been internally debating whether to move forward and self-publish the first book of my paranormal trilogy via Amazon.com’s print-on-demand and Kindle direct services. After reading Kristen Lamb’s blog post, Why Traditional Marketing Doesn’t Sell Books, I’m going to hold off and regroup.

After a thorough edit by Gloria Campbell, a professional book editor, I’ll go back through and make sure I have the highest quality product I can offer readers of my debut novel. I also want to be sure I’ve taken into account the major principles Kristen mentions in her book, We Are Not Alone: A Writer’s Guide to Social Media.

For those who are interested in my self-publishing progress, check back here and on my Facebook page (see below) as I’ll be posting updates on what I discover and decide.

Facebook page for Tessa D'Uccelli Blu

Author page for Tessa D'Uccelli Blu

About tessawritings

Technical/media writer by day, historical fantasy writer by night, unless I'm gardening, practicing Friulan, or riding my motorcycle next to The Husband. Born north of the 49th parallel as an Italian-Canadian dual citizen, I moved south of the border to marry my computer engineer/wanna-be chef significant other and his freeloading furballs. The move in 1999 sparked a huge burst of creativity in all manner of interests and projects that has yet to peak!

4 responses »

  1. Bob Mayer and Jen Talty of Who Dares Wins Publishing offer an AMAZING course to help you understand self-publishing, what works, what doesn’t and what all the options are and what might be the best option. Just check it out in the Write It Forward Workshops. It’s only $40 I think. Best of luck!

    • Thanks, Kristen. I’ll definitely check it out. I attended 2 of Bob’s workshops at the Surrey International Writers Conference in October and not only enjoyed his energy but his publishing expertise was definitely worth my time to hear it.

  2. I do want to follow your progress as I am going through the exact same thing right now. I just finished my book and it is in editing. I will be meeting with a person who just finished the process involved with becoming a self publisher and am anxious to get info from her. I am also blogging on bits of my writing experience. Hope you visit sometime!

    • Seems there’s a few of us in this boat so I’m glad to have the company as we wade through the waters together.

      I could related to your post on balance. So key for me and most artists, juggling our day jobs trying to make time for our passions. Not always enough time but making the most of it is what counts. Committing to achievable writing goals has made the difference in my world. I have performance goals at work so it made sense to create some for my “real” work in my realm of fiction, short stories, and poetry.

      Keep on keeping on, Joellen, and thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

