Summer/fall art project No. 1: The Sketchbook Project 2012

Standard

The Sketchbook Project is a traveling exhibition of sketchbooks created by artists like me.

I’m excited to participate again this year to stretch the bounds of my creativity with words and pictures.

My theme was inspired by my cousin Livio. I was in Italy this spring, visiting family, researching my novel set in San Daniele del Friuli, and working on our family tree. As a going-home gift, Livio gave me a two-volume set of Friulan proverbs. Friulan is the second largest minority language in Italy and spoken by the people of the Friuli region in northeastern Italy.

I’ve heard Friulan proverbs all my life and I thought it might be nice to illustrate their meaning in my own characteristic way so stay tuned for early entries. You can also follow my progress on my Sketchbook page under the artist name, Tessa d’Uccelli Blu.

About tessawritings

Technical/media writer by day, historical fantasy writer by night, unless I'm gardening, practicing Friulan, or riding my motorcycle next to The Husband. Born north of the 49th parallel as an Italian-Canadian dual citizen, I moved south of the border to marry my computer engineer/wanna-be chef significant other and his freeloading furballs. The move in 1999 sparked a huge burst of creativity in all manner of interests and projects that has yet to peak!

Leave a Reply

